handling asynchronous callbacks from c++ in a python script

T

Tim Spens

I have a c++ program running that has boost python hooks for the c++ api.
I'm running a python client that makes calls into the c++ api. The problem is there are c++
asynchronous callbacks that need to pass information to the python client. What I was hoping to
do is call a python function from c++ that resides in the running "main()" python client
while in the c++ callback handlers.
Is this possible and if you can point me to an example or documentation on how to do this it would be much appreciated?

NOTE: I've been asking on the c++-sig mailing list about this and David Abrahams (very well versed in boost python) said:
"I'm not an expert on asynchronous python and this is really not a Boost.Python question. I suggest you ask on the regular Python mailing list. Sorry."

____________________________________________________________________________________
Be a better friend, newshound, and
know-it-all with Yahoo! Mobile. Try it now. http://mobile.yahoo.com/;_ylt=Ahu06i62sR8HDtDypao8Wcj9tAcJ

C

castironpi

I have a c++ program running that has boost python hooks for the c++ api.
I'm running a python client that makes calls into the c++ api. The problem is there are c++
asynchronous callbacks that need to pass information to the python client. What I was hoping to
do is call a python function from c++ that resides in the running "main()" python client
while in the c++ callback handlers.
Is this possible and if you can point me to an example or documentation on how to do this it would be much appreciated?

NOTE: I've been asking on the c++-sig mailing list about this and David Abrahams (very well versed in boost python) said:
"I'm not an expert on asynchronous python and this is really not a Boost.Python question. I suggest you ask on the regular Python mailing list. Sorry."

PyObject_CallFunction.

You might need to pass -out- a Thread instance, initialized with your