How to implement a combo Web and Desktop app in python.

S

Shawn McElroy

I am somewhat new to python. I am still learning it. I am starting an app that I ma not quite sure how to best implement it.

In the grand scheme, there will be 4 apps total. There will be a core shared between them that allows them to easily talk to each other (ill explain) and communicate with a database, as well as redis for pubsub events. I alsoneed things to work on both web, and desktop. So i will likely have to keep the UI and the core of each app in their own separate apps entirely. The main core on the web will be a REST interface with proper content negotiation, depending on what is requested.

Normally, if the desktop is online, you may think "If you have a good rest interface, this makes the desktop version pointless". While true for some cases, the reason I need a desktop implementation, is because the end user still needs to be able to use the app while there is no internet connectivity. For example, an in store POS system. They would still need to process transactions like cash while offline, and they would also need access to their inventory. This is also good for intermittent connection problems, and for speed. So they don't have to worry about networking issues to do things. For this reason a local database is also needed. And when online, it keeps in sync with the remote database.

So I need to find a way I can implement this in the best way, to help prevent code duplication, and reduce the amount of time it takes to get into production. If possible, I would like to use some kind of built in webkit for desktop as well, so users have the same experience both online and locally.So i would likely need to package a webserver as well (tornado/gunicorn?)