how to program virtex 4?

Reaction score
Hello,

I want to download a simple VHDL program to FPGA Xilinx Virtex-4. I am using ISE 10.1 and iMPACT 10.1. the code is very simple. it is an AND gate that works at clock high
------------------------------
process(clk)
begin
if (clk'event and clk = '1') then
y <= a and b;
end if;
end process;
------------------------------
I am very new in FPGA programing. the behavioral,post-translate,post-map and post-route simulation works fine. I just want to know the steps to download the program to FPGA.

I have few questions as well:

1. How will I assign me signals (clk, a, b, y) to the ports/pins of FPGA?
2. How should I give the inputs (clk, a, b)? Can I do this using switches of the FPGA board? How to connect the FPGA ports to the switches?
3. How should I take output (y)? Should I use the LED of the board? How to connect output port of FPGA with the LED?
4. Do I have to code any .ucf file manually? How to code .ucf for this simple program?

Someone may think these questions very childinsh. But as I am very new in this field and getting no advisor/instructor to help me, these are very crucial to me. Hope to get help from you soon.

Best regards,

Pantho

Reaction score
Hi Pantho

Sorry I can't help you with the Virtex 4 - but the principles the same as for programming a Spartan 3.
You can find many documents at the net giving you startes help - in fact will you find most of this in the help menu of your programming software.

But if you like can you visit this page (and others):
http://www.jjmk.dk/MMMI/Exercises/01_Intro/No1/exer1_1.htm

Your welcome
Jeppe

Reaction score
example ucf file required

Hello,
I am using Xilinx Virtex-4 LX MB Development Kit, FPGA is Virtex-4 xc4vlx60-ffg668. Can you plz tell me how i get the example ucf for the board?

Thanks in advance

pantho

Reaction score
1) Your should be able to download this from the site where you got the kit