Huge SQL query and ASP.NET...Question of efficiency

T

The Eeediot

Hello, again, ASPdotNET gurus!

I have a performance question for the group:

This may be a typical type of scenario but I'm still a newbie. I am trying to display the purchase history of customer accounts from a warehousing database. I am displaying the result(s) using a DataGrid in ASP.NET 1.1 pulling the data from an MS-SQL 2000 server. These results are being displayed through the company's Intranet.

I have the basic query setup that pulls the basic purhcase history from the SQL server. Now, I need to add some bells-and-whistles that only show sales from the current year, under a specific product code(s), etc. Would it be better to perform these queries / searches on the DataSet stored on the Web server or get the SQL server to perform these operations?

TIA...

J

Jason MacKenzie

I could be wrong but I would think it would make far more sense to only return the records that you need from SQL?

Why return a bunch of records you're only going to filter out anyway?

This may be a typical type of scenario but I'm still a newbie. I am trying to display the purchase history of customer accounts from a warehousing database. I am displaying the result(s) using a DataGrid in ASP.NET 1.1 pulling the data from an MS-SQL 2000 server. These results are being displayed through the company's Intranet.

I have the basic query setup that pulls the basic purhcase history from the SQL server. Now, I need to add some bells-and-whistles that only show sales from the current year, under a specific product code(s), etc. Would it be better to perform these queries / searches on the DataSet stored on the Web server or get the SQL server to perform these operations?

TIA...

C

Craig

As a general rule, you want to pull as few records across the wire as possible, so have SQL Server do the work.

HTH.
Craig

TIA...

G

Jason,

If the data does not change frequently or the Web server and SQL Server