Multicolumn combo box

Discussion in 'ASP .Net Building Controls' started by NEWBIE, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    Hi,

    I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.

    Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.

    Thanx.
    NEWBIE, Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD], Apr 21, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a composite
    control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to understand
    how to go about it. Can you plz help ?

    "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:

    > You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    > http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    >
    > --
    > I hope this helps,
    > Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > http://SteveOrr.net
    >
    >
    > "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > > Hi,
    > >
    > > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    > >
    > > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    > >
    > > Thanx.
    > >
    > >

    >
    >
    >
    NEWBIE, Apr 21, 2005
    #3
  4. Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox control.
    With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx

    --
    I hope this helps,
    Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    http://SteveOrr.net



    "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    > composite
    > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    > understand
    > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    >
    > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >
    >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    >>
    >> --
    >> I hope this helps,
    >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >>
    >>
    >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> news:...
    >> > Hi,
    >> >
    >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    >> >
    >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    >> >
    >> > Thanx.
    >> >
    >> >

    >>
    >>
    >>
    Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD], Apr 21, 2005
    #4
  5. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how to
    create a custom combo box.
    Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this control ?
    "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:

    > Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox control.
    > With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    > http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    >
    > --
    > I hope this helps,
    > Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > http://SteveOrr.net
    >
    >
    >
    > "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    > > composite
    > > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    > > understand
    > > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    > >
    > > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >
    > >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    > >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    > >>
    > >> --
    > >> I hope this helps,
    > >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >>
    > >>
    > >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> news:...
    > >> > Hi,
    > >> >
    > >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    > >> >
    > >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    > >> >
    > >> > Thanx.
    > >> >
    > >> >
    > >>
    > >>
    > >>

    >
    >
    >
    NEWBIE, Apr 21, 2005
    #5
  6. Yes. Here's another free combobox example that includes autocomplete
    functionality:
    http://metabuilders.com/tools/combobox.aspx

    --
    I hope this helps,
    Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    http://SteveOrr.net


    "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how to
    > create a custom combo box.
    > Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this
    > control ?
    > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >
    >> Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox control.
    >> With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    >> http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    >>
    >> --
    >> I hope this helps,
    >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >>
    >>
    >>
    >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> news:...
    >> > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    >> > composite
    >> > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    >> > understand
    >> > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    >> >
    >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >> >
    >> >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    >> >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    >> >>
    >> >> --
    >> >> I hope this helps,
    >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> >> news:...
    >> >> > Hi,
    >> >> >
    >> >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    >> >> >
    >> >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    >> >> >
    >> >> > Thanx.
    >> >> >
    >> >> >
    >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >>

    >>
    >>
    >>
    Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD], Apr 21, 2005
    #6
  7. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    I did try andy's combo box but is there any way the same functionality can be
    added to your combo box ?
    On going through the code of andy's combo box, it appears that it needs
    some javascript functions. I couldnt find those functions. Also the code
    makes refernce to web.config file which is not there in the project.


    "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:

    > Yes. Here's another free combobox example that includes autocomplete
    > functionality:
    > http://metabuilders.com/tools/combobox.aspx
    >
    > --
    > I hope this helps,
    > Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > http://SteveOrr.net
    >
    >
    > "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > > Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how to
    > > create a custom combo box.
    > > Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this
    > > control ?
    > > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >
    > >> Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox control.
    > >> With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    > >> http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    > >>
    > >> --
    > >> I hope this helps,
    > >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >>
    > >>
    > >>
    > >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> news:...
    > >> > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    > >> > composite
    > >> > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    > >> > understand
    > >> > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    > >> >
    > >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >> >
    > >> >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    > >> >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    > >> >>
    > >> >> --
    > >> >> I hope this helps,
    > >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> >> news:...
    > >> >> > Hi,
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> > Thanx.
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> >
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >>
    > >>
    > >>

    >
    >
    >
    NEWBIE, Apr 22, 2005
    #7
  8. The javascript code is there, I've downloaded it and looked at it.
    Look harder.

    My control could be modified to provide the functionality you need, but it
    would require a good amount of elbow grease.

    --
    I hope this helps,
    Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    http://SteveOrr.net


    "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    >I did try andy's combo box but is there any way the same functionality can
    >be
    > added to your combo box ?
    > On going through the code of andy's combo box, it appears that it needs
    > some javascript functions. I couldnt find those functions. Also the code
    > makes refernce to web.config file which is not there in the project.
    >
    >
    > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >
    >> Yes. Here's another free combobox example that includes autocomplete
    >> functionality:
    >> http://metabuilders.com/tools/combobox.aspx
    >>
    >> --
    >> I hope this helps,
    >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >>
    >>
    >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> news:...
    >> > Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how
    >> > to
    >> > create a custom combo box.
    >> > Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this
    >> > control ?
    >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >> >
    >> >> Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox
    >> >> control.
    >> >> With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    >> >> http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    >> >>
    >> >> --
    >> >> I hope this helps,
    >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> >> news:...
    >> >> > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    >> >> > composite
    >> >> > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    >> >> > understand
    >> >> > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    >> >> >
    >> >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    >> >> >
    >> >> >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    >> >> >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    >> >> >>
    >> >> >> --
    >> >> >> I hope this helps,
    >> >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    >> >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    >> >> >>
    >> >> >>
    >> >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    >> >> >> news:...
    >> >> >> > Hi,
    >> >> >> >
    >> >> >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    >> >> >> >
    >> >> >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    >> >> >> >
    >> >> >> > Thanx.
    >> >> >> >
    >> >> >> >
    >> >> >>
    >> >> >>
    >> >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >>
    >> >>

    >>
    >>
    >>
    Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD], Apr 23, 2005
    #8
  9. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    Hi Steve,
    Thanx for the reply. Yes the js code is there in the .resx
    file but there is no web.config file.

    If u go thrrough the code there is a property RefrenceLibraryUrl which
    returns a string variable. This property uses the web.config file.

    I did find a java script function on the net
    http://www.mattkruse.com/javascript/autocomplete/source.html

    In your control you add some java script code for the visibility. Now I
    think the "elbow grease" would be to add a javascript code to search the text
    in the listbox or do i have to use the items.findtext ?
    Am I on right track ?

    Thanx
    "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:

    > The javascript code is there, I've downloaded it and looked at it.
    > Look harder.
    >
    > My control could be modified to provide the functionality you need, but it
    > would require a good amount of elbow grease.
    >
    > --
    > I hope this helps,
    > Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > http://SteveOrr.net
    >
    >
    > "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > >I did try andy's combo box but is there any way the same functionality can
    > >be
    > > added to your combo box ?
    > > On going through the code of andy's combo box, it appears that it needs
    > > some javascript functions. I couldnt find those functions. Also the code
    > > makes refernce to web.config file which is not there in the project.
    > >
    > >
    > > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >
    > >> Yes. Here's another free combobox example that includes autocomplete
    > >> functionality:
    > >> http://metabuilders.com/tools/combobox.aspx
    > >>
    > >> --
    > >> I hope this helps,
    > >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >>
    > >>
    > >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> news:...
    > >> > Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how
    > >> > to
    > >> > create a custom combo box.
    > >> > Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this
    > >> > control ?
    > >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >> >
    > >> >> Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox
    > >> >> control.
    > >> >> With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    > >> >> http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    > >> >>
    > >> >> --
    > >> >> I hope this helps,
    > >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> >> news:...
    > >> >> > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    > >> >> > composite
    > >> >> > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    > >> >> > understand
    > >> >> > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    > >> >> >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >> --
    > >> >> >> I hope this helps,
    > >> >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> >> >> news:...
    > >> >> >> > Hi,
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > Thanx.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >>
    > >>
    > >>

    >
    >
    >
    NEWBIE, Apr 23, 2005
    #9
  10. NEWBIE

    NEWBIE Guest

    Thanx for your reply. I did found the code, it was in .resx file. But if you
    go thru the code there is a property which calls the configuration settings
    from web.config.

    I modified and added a datagrid to your code, but on load the grid lines of
    the datagrid are visible. How do I hide them ?

    "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:

    > The javascript code is there, I've downloaded it and looked at it.
    > Look harder.
    >
    > My control could be modified to provide the functionality you need, but it
    > would require a good amount of elbow grease.
    >
    > --
    > I hope this helps,
    > Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > http://SteveOrr.net
    >
    >
    > "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > >I did try andy's combo box but is there any way the same functionality can
    > >be
    > > added to your combo box ?
    > > On going through the code of andy's combo box, it appears that it needs
    > > some javascript functions. I couldnt find those functions. Also the code
    > > makes refernce to web.config file which is not there in the project.
    > >
    > >
    > > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >
    > >> Yes. Here's another free combobox example that includes autocomplete
    > >> functionality:
    > >> http://metabuilders.com/tools/combobox.aspx
    > >>
    > >> --
    > >> I hope this helps,
    > >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >>
    > >>
    > >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> news:...
    > >> > Thanx a lot steve. Yr article did help me a lot in understanding how
    > >> > to
    > >> > create a custom combo box.
    > >> > Is there any way autocomplete feature can be incorportaed into this
    > >> > control ?
    > >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >> >
    > >> >> Yes, here is an example I put together for creating a ComboBox
    > >> >> control.
    > >> >> With a little tinkering you should be able to adapt it for your needs:
    > >> >> http://SteveOrr.net/articles/ComboBox.aspx
    > >> >>
    > >> >> --
    > >> >> I hope this helps,
    > >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> >> news:...
    > >> >> > Thank you very much Steve for your reply. Actually I want to make a
    > >> >> > composite
    > >> >> > control by inheriting from the combo box control. I am not able to
    > >> >> > understand
    > >> >> > how to go about it. Can you plz help ?
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> > "Steve C. Orr [MVP, MCSD]" wrote:
    > >> >> >
    > >> >> >> You may be able to use this free multicolumn combobox control:
    > >> >> >> http://www.gotdotnet.com/Community/...mpleGuid=45af5293-92d0-4ab2-b0aa-3e4b976b11dd
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >> --
    > >> >> >> I hope this helps,
    > >> >> >> Steve C. Orr, MCSD, MVP
    > >> >> >> http://SteveOrr.net
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >> "NEWBIE" <> wrote in message
    > >> >> >> news:...
    > >> >> >> > Hi,
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > I have to show data in grid like manner in the combobox.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > Please give me ne idea to create multicolumn comboBox.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> > Thanx.
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >> >
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >> >>
    > >>
    > >>
    > >>

    >
    >
    >
    NEWBIE, Apr 23, 2005
    #10
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. =?Utf-8?B?QW5nZWw=?=

    COMBO BOX INSTEAD OF DROP DOWN BOX

    =?Utf-8?B?QW5nZWw=?=, Jun 29, 2004, in forum: ASP .Net
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    602
    Ken Cox [Microsoft MVP]
    Jun 29, 2004
  2. Adrian
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    210
    Bullschmidt
    Feb 18, 2004
  3. dthmtlgod

    Fill Combo Box based on another Combo Box

    dthmtlgod, Nov 16, 2005, in forum: ASP General
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    572
    Bob Barrows [MVP]
    Nov 16, 2005
  4. Mike

    Combo Box and text box

    Mike, Sep 24, 2003, in forum: Javascript
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    147
  5. SM
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    356
Loading...

Share This Page