Request.Form("__EVENTTARGET") = "" ???

Discussion in 'ASP .Net Web Controls' started by Dan, Dec 8, 2003.

1. Dan

Dan Guest

I am trying to use
    Request.Form("__EVENTTARGET") to get the name of the control that caused a post back. It keeps returning "".

I am not really sure why, this happens for all of my controls that invoke are invoking a post back.

I've never used this type of method before, but I need to get the name of the control doing the postback in the Form Load event, and cannot wait until the event of the target control that runs due to the postback.

Dan, Dec 8, 2003
    1. Advertising

2. Dan

Mythran Guest

Try Request.Form("__EVENTARGUMENT")

:)

Mythran

"Dan" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    I am trying to use
    Request.Form("__EVENTTARGET") to get the name of the control that caused a
    post back. It keeps returning "".

I am not really sure why, this happens for all of my controls that invoke are
    invoking a post back.

I've never used this type of method before, but I need to get the name of the
    control doing the postback in the Form Load event, and cannot wait until the
    event of the target control that runs due to the postback.

Mythran, Dec 8, 2003
    1. Advertising

3. Dan

Dan Guest

same..

just a blank string
    "Mythran" <> wrote in message news:...

Mythran

"Dan" <> wrote in message news:...
    I am trying to use
    Request.Form("__EVENTTARGET") to get the name of the control that caused a post back. It keeps returning "".

I am not really sure why, this happens for all of my controls that invoke are invoking a post back.

I've never used this type of method before, but I need to get the name of the control doing the postback in the Form Load event, and cannot wait until the event of the target control that runs due to the postback.

Dan, Dec 8, 2003
  4. Dan

Aurel Guest

I have already ask for it, because I have the same pb since i change my framework1.0 to 1.1 !

The answer: