Need help with a script... (my first!)

Reaction score
I'm new to js and have been making my first attempt to cobble together a script to make a background element change position in random increments whenever a link on a web page (that I'm working on) is clicked:

JavaScript:
const backgroundElement = document.querySelector('.container');
const positionXY = [100, 25, 50, 75];

function randomX(positionXY) { 
    return positionXY[Math.floor(Math.random() * positionXY.length)]
  }  
function randomY(positionXY) { 
    return positionXY[Math.floor(Math.random() * positionXY.length)]
  }
document.querySelectorAll("a").forEach(a =>
  a.addEventListener("click", () => {

backgroundElement.style.cssText = `background-position: ${randomX}% ${randomY}%;`
  }
  )
)

This doesn't throw any errors in console, but it doesn't work either, all that happens is the background "blinks".

if I replace
Code:
    backgroundElement.style.cssText = `background-position: ${randomX}% ${randomY}%;`
with:
Code:
alert("x position:" + randomX(positionXY));
  alert("y position:" + randomY(positionXY));
it shows that the values are being generated OK... so I can only assume there's something wrong with the way I've defined the function to change the background-position value

Would appreciate some advice, thanks! :)

Last edited:
Reaction score
Just to add... maybe the script is working but the event is wrongly defined - I want the background to change position and stay that way after click. It's possible it's changing position only WHILE a click is happening. I'll look into that...

Reaction score
I've pretty much solved this now...

two silly mistakes:

1. I didn't add the const to the function values in the background-position function - corrected thus:
Code:
backgroundElement.style.cssText = `background-position: ${randomX(positionXY)}% ${randomY(positionXY)}%;`