Registration form

Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
hi all basically i'm making a php and sql registration form?

and i'm getting this error $p2 = $_POST['p2'];

my code is this


PHP:
<?php
$error = NULL;

if(isset($_POST['submit'])){

    //Get form data
    
    $u = $_POST['u'];
    $p = $_POST['p'];
    $p2 = $_POST['p2'];
    $e = $_POST['e'];
    
    
    
    
    if(strlen($u) < 5){
        $error = "<p>Your username must be at least 5 characters</p>";
    }elseif($p2 != $p){
        $error .= "<p>Your passwords do not match</p>";   
    }else{
        //Form is valid
        
        //Connect to the database
        $mysqli = NEW MYSQLi('localhost','root','','profiles');
        
        //Sanitize form data
        $u = $mysqli->real_escape_string($u);
        $p = $mysqli->real_escape_string($p);
        $p2 = $mysqli->real_escape_string($p2);
        $e = $mysqli->real_escape_string($e);

        //Generate Vkey
        $vkey = md5(time().$u);
        
        //insert account into the database
        $p = md5($p);
        $insert = $mysqli->query("INSERT INTO accounts(usname,password,email,vkey)
        VALUES('$u','$p','$e','$vkey')");
        
        if($insert){
            echo "Success";
        }else{
            
        }
        
        
    }
}   
        

?>
<html>
<head>
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body>
<form method="POST" action="">
  <table border="0" align="center" cellpadding="5">
  <tr>
 
    <td align="right">Username:</td>
    <td><input type="TEXT" name="u" required/></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td align="right">Password:</td>
    <td><input type="PASSWORD" name="p" required/></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td align="right">Repeat Password:</td>
    <td><input type="REPEATPASSWORD" name="r" required/></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
  <td align="right">Email Address:</td>
    <td><input type="EMAIL" name="e" required/></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
 
  <tr>
 
    <td colspan="2" align="center"><input type="SUBMIT" name="submit" value="Register" required/></td>
  </tr>
</table>
</form>
<center>
 <?php
$error = NULL;
?>
</center>
</body>
</html>

i have tried and tried to search the error but can't find any answers to it
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
302
Reaction score
38
i'm getting this error $p2 = $_POST['p2'];
That is not an error code, it's the third line of collecting data from your form. Your PHP code has a problem with that statement.
You should do a test and print the '$p' and '$p2'. If you still get an error research the correct one and not $p2 = $_POST['p2'];
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
That is not an error code, it's the third line of collecting data from your form. Your PHP code has a problem with that statement.
You should do a test and print the '$p' and '$p2'. If you still get an error research the correct one and not $p2 = $_POST['p2'];
funny! i register my username and i get and error over here http://coolvibes.hopto.org/loginnew/register.php
error Notice: Undefined index: p2 in C:\wamp64\www\loginnew\register.php on line 10
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
Please post the form that is calling this php file.
here is the register form. but when i go to try and do a test register the test username
don't show up in phpmyadmin? anyway check out the code, by the way everything is in this file .
 

Attachments

  • register - Copy.zip
    937 bytes · Views: 49
Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
302
Reaction score
38
If your running this as a single file that's what happens, because the first time through you haven't defined those. Set the PHP as a separate file and call it from the HTML form.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
If your running this as a single file that's what happens, because the first time through you haven't defined those. Set the PHP as a separate file and call it from the HTML form.
ok i have started on another project rite this time im making a profile system
but i am getting an error Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '}' in C:\wamp64\www\test\profile.php on line 37
 

Attachments

  • profile - Copy.zip
    900 bytes · Views: 50
Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
302
Reaction score
38
strawbs you allways need to be mindful that PHP run at the server and HTML runs in the browser. This file will not run as you want. This line:
<title><?php echo $firstname; ?> <?php echo $lastname; ?>s Profile</title>
Needs to know $firstname and $lastname which is not known until line 17 and 18:
Code:
while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($userquery, MYSQLI_ASSOC)){
    $firstname = $row['firstname'];
    $lastname = $row['lastname'];

Your error is caused by a missing ; at the end of line 36.
You'll get more errors in the table because of this:
<? php echo $firstname: ?>
in all rows. Notice the space after the ?. Should be <?php

FYI -> Back in ver 5.4 of PHP a short hand way of writing <?php echo was introduced <?= Easier right?
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
strawbs you allways need to be mindful that PHP run at the server and HTML runs in the browser. This file will not run as you want. This line:
<title><?php echo $firstname; ?> <?php echo $lastname; ?>s Profile</title>
Needs to know $firstname and $lastname which is not known until line 17 and 18:
Code:
while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($userquery, MYSQLI_ASSOC)){
    $firstname = $row['firstname'];
    $lastname = $row['lastname'];

Your error is caused by a missing ; at the end of line 36.
You'll get more errors in the table because of this:
<? php echo $firstname: ?>
in all rows. Notice the space after the ?. Should be <?php

FYI -> Back in ver 5.4 of PHP a short hand way of writing <?php echo was introduced <?= Easier right?
im getting error on line 9 syntax error unexpected if
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
302
Reaction score
38
Have you never been taught to troubleshoot strawbs?

If you read my last post you made a new program, you did re-program right, because I told you you fetch data in the wrong place. So post both the calling form and new form you just re-wrote.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
Have you never been taught to troubleshoot strawbs?

If you read my last post you made a new program, you did re-program right, because I told you you fetch data in the wrong place. So post both the calling form and new form you just re-wrote
Have you never been taught to troubleshoot strawbs?

If you read my last post you made a new program, you did re-program right, because I told you you fetch data in the wrong place. So post both the calling form and new form you just re-wrote.
i do try and troubleshoot
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
473,755
Messages
2,569,536
Members
45,007
Latest member
obedient dusk

Latest Threads

Top