Data cleaning workouts

F

Fg Nu

List folk,

I am a newbie trying to get used to Python. I was wondering if anyone knows of web resources that teach good practices in data cleaning and management for statistics/analytics/machine learning, particularly using Python.

Ideally, these would be exercises of the form: here is some horrible raw data --> here is what it should look like after it has been cleaned. Guidelines about steps that should always be taken, practices that should be avoided; basically, workflow of data analysis in Python with special emphasis on the cleaning part.

R

rusi

List folk,

I am a newbie trying to get used to Python. I was wondering if anyone knows of web resources that teach good practices in data cleaning and management for statistics/analytics/machine learning, particularly using Python.

Ideally, these would be exercises of the form: here is some horrible raw data --> here is what it should look like after it has been cleaned. Guidelines about steps that should always be taken, practices that should be avoided; basically, workflow of data analysis in Python with special emphasis on the cleaning part.

Since no one has answered, I suggest you narrow your searching from
'python' to 'scipy' (or 'numpy').
Also perhaps ipython.
And then perhaps try those specific mailing lists/fora.

Since I dont know this area much, not saying more.

F

Fg Nu

Thanks. I will try the SciPy list. It was a bit of a hail mary anyway. Pretty sure elevated Python types don't actually get their hands dirty with data. ;)

----- Original Message -----
To: (e-mail address removed)
Cc:
Sent: Thursday, August 23, 2012 11:01 PM
Subject: Re: Data cleaning workouts

List folk,

I am a newbie trying to get used to Python. I was wondering if anyone knows of webresources that teach good practices in data cleaning and management for statistics/analytics/machine learning, particularly using Python.