Vacuum World version 1e-6alpha ;) released

Discussion in 'Python' started by Brian Blais, Apr 3, 2006.

1. Brian Blais

Brian Blais Guest

Hello,

I am just learning Python, and my first somewhat significant project is now available at

http://web.bryant.edu/~bblais/python/vac.tgz

What is it?

Vacuum World is a simple simulation environment used to introduce some concepts in
    Artificial Intelligence (Norvig, 2002), but can also be used as a simple introduction
    to a programming language. In this case, of course, it is in Python. You write
    python scripts to control a vacuum cleaner in a simulated room of dirt and furniture,
    trying to vacuum up as much dirt and get back home to turn off. I've used wax to
    make a nice gui for running the simulator.

A sample agent might look like:

Forward()
    if IsDirt():
    Vacuum()
    Off()

Some Questions:

As I was making this, I had a number of issues. I invite anyone who cares to look
    at the code to give me feedback about anything from GUI development, to code
    organization, or anything else. I have a few questions right off the bat:

1) how is code like this usually distributed? Does one make a setup.py to install it
    somewhere, and are there certain files that should be in the distribution that I
    don't have? Should it include a windows binary from py2exe too?

2) I had some problems getting the center panel to fit right. I'd like to have it so
    that when I resize the board, that the window grows and shrinks to the right size,
    down to a minimum size (so I can still see the menus). I could do this, using the
    Fit() method, but I found at the smaller sizes the individual images in the panel
    started to have large (and growing) spaces between them. I'd rather the whole board
    be centered in the panel. I tried every combination of Pack() and Fit() and
    expand=... and align=... , but couldn't get it to work.