Web development best practice

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a mobile developer. I recently started learning web development with Go language and I have a question about this process.
I did work in some companies in the past and saw they give REST API to web developers and the web developers build their web site with them. In the courses, I watched the process of developing a website using templates! I mean there was no REST API in there and that's my question. What is the difference? Why no REST API and using templates?! Is that the way it should be? If yes then why in those companies they were using REST API to build websites?!

Reaction score
I believe that learning the basic, raw language of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript is the correct way to learn web development. Learning GO is considered easy and a great language for beginners. RUST is similar to C++ and is used instead of JS. Personally, I'd stay with JS.
By using templates, are you talking about the HTML/CSS visual website? If yes, I have found this harder to use than programming from the ground up.

Reaction score
Here is not bad explanation from GPT (maybe it'll useful for you):

The difference you're observing between using templates in web development courses and using REST APIs in companies is related to two different approaches for building web applications: server-side rendering (using templates) and client-side rendering (using REST APIs).