What is AI programming to us non-bigtech programmers?

Reaction score
I am a struggling programmer. Been trying to learn it for forever but don't get any better. A few weeks ago, I went to chatgpt and asked for it to make me a new social media platform better than facebook. it just got to work and started writing code until it crashed after many hundreds and hundreds of lines of code.

I'm trying to learn python. I've dabbled in c++, java, powershell and c#. I got the furthest in powershell in my abilities to program. I always though learning c++ to java to basic or whatever was like learning english to portegese to chinese. There was nothing in common. But, the more I see other languages, I see how similar they are.

The way I understand AI to us little programmers is we're just writing programs in some language and then using APIs to make a hook into Google or ChatGPT's Open AI's API, right? So, we're not writing AI... the big tech guys have already done that for us and we're just writing our code to call hooks into their apis to do it. So, is that it, or is there more? Is there something more with AI that I should be focusing my programming studies on?

Reaction score
AI is Artificial Intelligence...meaning it learns and adapts from the various types of inputs, based on what the program is designed to do, then creates an output. It's constantly learning an adapting to the point where it may even rewrite it's own coding if allowed too in order to make things faster and more efficient.
(See iRobot)

Connecting to an API is nothing more than basically creating a link to run input through someone else's script to get a predetermined output (format).

Reaction score