Beginner's Guide to getting CipherSweet working with PDO and MYSQL

isq

Reaction score
I'm brand new to posting programming questions on forums, and I just tried to get help on Stack Overflow but they downvoted me a bunch and deleted my question because it wasn't specific enough, I guess? I guess I don't know how to make my request more specific, as I'm looking for an easy-to-understand guide to make CipherSweet work with my project, and I don't understand anything after the installation process. What I need is everything else afterwards in a way that's not 1000 feet over my head. Hopefully y'all are more willing to help me than Stack peeps were.

So, I have some experience with BASIC (VERY BASIC) encryption (like sodium crypto secret box and a bit of argon stuff for passwords), and I've built sites on php with MYSQL before that never really needed the sort of encryption (especially SEARCHABLE encrypted data from a database) that I am now needing for a current project (usernames, actual names, email addresses, birthdates, etc.). I need to be able to search by encrypted email addresses, usernames, and actual names, at a minimum, and connecting any of my encryption code with the searchable ability came up null, and research led me to realize this is a huge issue and difficult enough to merit conferences on this subject alone.

Enter CipherSweet, which looks like exactly what I need...if I can just figure out how to use it.

I've never installed anything like this before that I've gotten to work for programming, and I'm guilty of just programming most things I do from scratch (yeah, I know, old school, but it's currently all I know).