IntelliJ Plugin Wizard Development

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to IntelliJ Plugin Development, and I apologize for my limited English skills.
I would like to have the default project wizard when selecting my plugin. However, I've encountered a problem. I'm currently using the "AbstractNewProjectWizardBuilder" class, which includes a method called "createStep." Unfortunately, I cannot return null in that method. As a workaround, I created a second class and implemented the "NewProjectWizardStep" class within it. However, I'm unsure how to utilize it, and I haven't been able to find any documentation on this topic.
Could someone assist me with this?

Reaction score
To create a custom project wizard in IntelliJ, you can indeed use the AbstractNewProjectWizardBuilder class. However, instead of returning null from the createStep method, you need to return an instance of a class that implements the NewProjectWizardStep interface.

Here's an example of how you can create a custom step class and utilize it in your project wizard:

1. Create a class that implements the NewProjectWizardStep interface. This class will define the UI and behavior of your custom step in the project wizard. For example:
javaCopy code
import com.intellij.ide.util.projectWizard.ModuleWizardStep;
import javax.swing.*;

public class MyCustomProjectStep extends ModuleWizardStep implements NewProjectWizardStep {
private JPanel myPanel;

public MyCustomProjectStep() {
// Initialize your custom step UI here
myPanel = new JPanel();
myPanel.add(new JLabel("This is my custom step"));
}

@Override
public JComponent getComponent() {
return myPanel;
}

@Override
public void updateDataModel() {
// Perform any necessary actions when the user moves to the next step
}

@Override
public boolean validate() {
// Perform any necessary validation for the step
return true; // or return false if validation fails
}
}