negative slack

S

sagar g

hello everyone
When I synthesize my code using synplify I got a slack of -40.508 on a instance of type DFN, pin Q and its arrival time is 1.395.
how can i reduce that slack please help.
where should I modify my code
why is this slack introduced in my code I'm a newbie to vhdl please help
I'm written code for SDI-12 protocol, it shows correct simulation results in pre synthesis simulation & 'X' through out the simulation in post synthesis simulation on output signals. are the negative slacks on many instances is the reason for that 'X' please help

thanks in advance

R

rickman

hello everyone
When I synthesize my code using synplify I got a slack of -40.508 on a instance of type DFN, pin Q and its arrival time is 1.395.
how can i reduce that slack please help.
where should I modify my code
why is this slack introduced in my code I'm a newbie to vhdl please help
I'm written code for SDI-12 protocol, it shows correct simulation results in pre synthesis simulation& 'X' through out the simulation in post synthesis simulation on output signals. are the negative slacks on many instances is the reason for that 'X' please help

thanks in advance

The timing analysis is done on the design files that describe how your
design will be implemented in the FPGA. Once those decisions have been
made the timing of the signal paths can be measured which is what static
timing analysis is about. They calculate the timing between every two
endpoints in your design and show you the ones that don't meet the
requirements.

The negative slack means the signal path is taking too long and is not
as fast as your clock. You can slow down the clock, likely not an
option in your case, or you need to figure out what the delay path is so
slow. There are tools for looking at what has been synthesized, none of
them fun to use in my opinion, and you need to figure out if the
synthesized logic was inefficient or if you are doing a bad job of coding.