Advice for programming career

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm an Aerospace Engineering student with some limited previous python and MATLAB experience. I've enjoyed programming and wish to develop my knowledge with the hope of getting a job in this area when I graduate next year. I was hoping someone could give me advice on what language(s) to learn or any recommendations for good courses and tips that would help me develop towards being employable.
Thanks

Reaction score
Hello! It's great to hear about your interest in programming and your goal of becoming more employable in the aerospace engineering field. Programming skills are indeed valuable in this industry. Here are some suggestions to help you develop your programming skills and enhance your employability:
  1. Python:
    • Since you already have some experience with Python, it's a good idea to continue building on that foundation. Python is widely used in the aerospace industry for tasks such as data analysis, simulation, and automation.
  2. MATLAB:
    • MATLAB is extensively used in aerospace engineering for numerical analysis, simulation, and control system design. Make sure to deepen your knowledge of MATLAB, especially in areas like Simulink for system modeling.
  3. C++:
    • C++ is commonly used in aerospace for software development, especially in embedded systems and performance-critical applications. Learning C++ will be beneficial if you are involved in software development for aerospace systems.
  4. Version Control:
    • Familiarize yourself with version control systems like Git. Many engineering projects, including aerospace, rely on version control to manage code repositories collaboratively.
  5. Data Structures and Algorithms:
    • Strengthen your understanding of fundamental data structures and algorithms. This is crucial for writing efficient and optimized code, which is important in the aerospace industry.
  6. Aerospace-Specific Libraries: