Help with 'self' and 'set_usage'

L

L O'Shea

Hi all,
I'm interning and have been given the job of extending a program that has been written by someone else. I've never used Python before so it's a bit ofa struggle but I've got to say I'm loving the language so far.

In on of the scripts there is

def set_usage(self,s):
self.usage_str = s

Could anyone shed some light on this? I can't find mention of this anywherein any Python documentation or anywhere else in the code where usage_str might be defined. Can you just create variables in that object by writing self.name = "david" self.hobby = "fishing"??

If this is any help it is used later in the program (or in other scripts) like

prog.set_usage("""%prog <command> [options] ....""")

Thanks for your help, I have spent a good while googling python docs, code snippets and reading through a Python book I have on my desk to no avail.

Cheers in advance.

E

Ethan Furman

Hi all,
Howdy!

I'm interning and have been given the job of extending a program that has been written by someone else. I've never used Python before so it's a bit of a struggle but I've got to say I'm loving the language so far.

Excellent way to start a question! :)

In one of the scripts there is

def set_usage(self,s):
self.usage_str = s

Careful of whitespace when posting (I fixed that one for you).

Can you just create variables in that object by writing self.name = "david" self.hobby = "fishing"??

Yup, you sure can.

A

Antoon Pardon

Op 09-07-13 19:03, L O'Shea schreef:
Hi all,
I'm interning and have been given the job of extending a program that
has been written by someone else. I've never used Python before so it's
a bit of a struggle but I've got to say I'm loving the language so far.

def set_usage(self,s):
self.usage_str = s

Could anyone shed some light on this? I can't find mention of this
anywhere in any Python documentation or anywhere else in the code
where usage_str might be defined. Can you just create variables in