How to start OpenGL programming with Ruby?

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m new to OpenGL and I was wondering where I should start learning to program OpenGL.
I wanted to use Ruby to do so and I’ve gotten OpenGL to work with Ruby by installing the gems (there are still some errors trying to execute some of the examples which came with the gem).
But now I’m stuck with OpenGL. Where should I start learning? Are there any good books I should read?

All help is appreciated!

Reaction score
You start by understanding the following:

* Platform Environment (which is what GLUT is for)
* Software vs Hardware Rendering
* Vertices and Vertex Format
* Polygons and Geometry Pipeline
* Matrix Manipulation
* Perspective Projection
* Vertex Shading & Shading
* Graphics Device State
* Texture and Bit Mapping

Everything else is a lot of buffer and map manipulation.
A book I recommend is OpenGL SuperBible - * Double Buffering
* Depth Buffering
* Tessellation
* Mipmapping
* Antialiasing
* Occlusion
* Shadow Mapping
* .... [this list can go up to over 80+ terms.]

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m new to OpenGL and I was wondering where I should start learning to program OpenGL.
I wanted to use Ruby to do so and I’ve gotten OpenGL to work with Ruby by installing the gems (there are still some errors trying to execute some of the examples which came with the gem).
But now I’m stuck with OpenGL. Where should I start learning? Are there any good books I should read?

All help is appreciated!

To start OpenGL programming with Ruby, you'll need to use a library called "Ruby-OpenGL" (or "gl"). Here's a basic guide to get you started:

Install Ruby: First, make sure you have Ruby installed on your system. You can download and install Ruby from the official website: https://www.ruby-lang.org/en/downloads/