Can't decide which language to get back into programming with

Reaction score
I've programmed on and off for many years. Most all of it has been console programs. I'm really a dedicated guitarist so that is my main passion. But I developed an interest in programming many years ago, and it's stuck with me. But I've taken lots of time off. I think the last program I wrote was in Python and that was probably two years ago.

I can't decide what language to use to get back into it. I want to pretty soon start doing some programs that have a GUI interface.

Python would probably be the easiest to use. But I've always been fond of the C++/Java/C# syntax.

I've used Java, C++, C#, Python, and a long time ago Visual Basic.

Kind of a hard decision, but I can always use any additional language after I choose the initial one. Maybe that is the best way to look at it.

Reaction score
It sounds like you have a solid foundation in multiple programming languages, which is great! Since you're considering diving back into programming and want to explore GUI interfaces, here are a few considerations to help you decide:

1. Python with Tkinter: Since you already have experience with Python, Tkinter provides a straightforward way to create GUI applications. Python's syntax is clean and easy to understand, making it an excellent choice for rapid development.
  2. Java with Swing or JavaFX: If you enjoy the syntax of Java, you might want to consider using Swing or JavaFX for GUI development. Java has robust libraries and tools for building desktop applications, and Swing/JavaFX provide a lot of flexibility in creating user interfaces.
  3. C# with WinForms or WPF: Since you mentioned being fond of C#, you could explore GUI development using WinForms or Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) in the .NET framework. C# integrates well with the Windows ecosystem and provides powerful tools for building desktop applications.