Looking to change programming direction

Reaction score
Hello world!

I am a long-time novice/amateur self taught programmer. A long time ago I started learning C++ through necessity. It wasn't really C++ programming, more of a scripting inside an existing game SDK. I learned a lot through trial and error, some space examples here and there and eventually got things to work that I wanted to.
I then moved on to a few C++ .net forms applications and they worked well.
I eventually shifted from C++ and as a natural progression I developed in C# again using .NET forms.

I made lots of applications on this platform with a lot of success, although it is all self-taught and I have never focused on quality, really just the output. Having said that, I made some neat applications ranging from a program that joins up images into a video which I used for stop-animation, image conversion, tools that leverages SQL databases, tools that leverage a SOAP API, applications that scrape web pages and some other stuff that I needed.
I guess by way of introduction I am trying to say that I am not completely new to programming, but my "education" isn't formal and I have some pretty sloppy practices.

What I would really like to do now is create my first mobile application. I have always been bound either by working or extending an existing windows client application or starting from scratch - But only using windows forms.

I use visual studio community edition as my IDE so I installed the Xamarin packages and attempted to sniff my way around, hoping that it wouldn't be too much different. I found I could create a form based project, but it was nothing like what I was used to. Editting the layout of the application meant changing the code itself. I found this really frustrating and very over-whelming.