While loop unclear, can someone help?

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am new to coding, and I am learning Javascript on my own. I have found the following mini-program and I don´t understand how the algorithm works.

let yourName;
do {
yourName = prompt("Who are you?");
} while (!yourName);
console.log(yourName);

This program will force you to enter a name. It will ask again and again until it gets something that is not an empty string.
Applying the ! operator will convert a value to Boolean type before negating it, and all strings except "" convert to true.

This means the loop continues going round until you provide a non-empty name.

Clearly the program works because I run it. However, I do not understand the logic of this while loop with the "logical NOT operator"

while (!yourName);
console.log(yourName);

When someone enters a (not empty) string value, the operator transforms it into a boolean and then negates it. Which means that in the end (!yourName) = false.
So my while loop seems to say:
"while the condition in the parentheses is false, print out yourName". What confuses me is that I believed that the condition in the while loop needs always to be truthy/true in order to take the action (print out in this case)
I was thinking that the logic is always

while (true) -----> do this action

I hope I clarified my point. Thank you in advance for this awesome forum and any help you can give me :)

Salva

Reaction score
In JavaScript, both while and do-while are loop structures used for repetitive tasks, but they have a key difference in when the loop condition is checked.

while loop:
  • checks the loop condition before the loop body is executed.
  • If the condition is initially false, the loop body will not be executed at all.
do-while loop:
  • on the other hand, checks the loop condition after the loop body is executed.
  • this means that the loop body is guaranteed to run at least once, even if the condition is initially false.
In summary: