Are people aloud to advertise here?

G

Grant Merwitz

I've seen many ads in these newgroups like the one posted about 4 below
(Read Asp.NET in www.ebook5.com)

Is this allowed?

I find it highly annoying because people come here either to help, ask for
help or learn from other problems/solutions.
Not for SPAM!

These cheap advertisers should F*** *FF
 
M

Mark Rae

Is this allowed?

The problem is that these Microsoft newsgroups are unmoderated i.e. there's
nothing and no-one to stop anyone posting anything.

I certainly agree with you that spam is bad, and should be discouraged, as
should the posting of binaries.

However, if someone posts a specific problem, and I have a commercial
utility designed to fix that specific problem, then I think it's OK for me
to tell the OP about it in that particular instance.
 
K

Kevin Spencer

I've seen many ads in these newgroups like the one posted about 4 below
(Read Asp.NET in www.ebook5.com)

Is this allowed?

As the phrase made popular in the U.S. (for obvious reasons) goes, "it's a
free country."

Of course, a newsgroup is not a country, but it's also a free Internet
(thanks again to the U.S., and their imperialistic policy of encouraging
freedom of speech).

That said, Microsoft does monitor and control these newsgroups to a certain
extent, and has been known from time to time to delete SPAM, which everyone
who has any sense at all, resents. This is because Microsoft OWNS this
newsgroup, which is not the Internet, per se. But even Microsoft is loathe
to interfere with free speech, and has a tendency to be somewhat (as the
French would say) "laissez faire" about what people post.

Now, the particular post you mentioned would not be considered SPAM, as it
was not posted by someone from the www.ebook5.com web site, but by a user
who recommended it. Recommendations are often helpful to others and are not
discouraged.

--
HTH,

Kevin Spencer
Microsoft MVP
..Net Developer
Everybody picks their nose,
But some people are better at hiding it.
 
E

Eliyahu Goldin

Now, the particular post you mentioned would not be considered SPAM, as it
was not posted by someone from the www.ebook5.com web site, but by a user
who recommended it.

A real user would put his real name. The name asp.net does look very
SPAM-like. And googling newsgroups on the sender's email address
(e-mail address removed) will remove your last doubt.

Eliyahu
 
K

Kevin Spencer

Hi Eliyahu,

I did Google newsgroups, and I'm not convinced. First, unless he RUNS
ebook5.com (an perhaps he does, but I can't assume that), he would have no
reason to post the links, which have no affiliate ID in them to give him
credit for the posts. Second, there are only about a dozen posts with his
name attributed to them.

--
HTH,

Kevin Spencer
Microsoft MVP
..Net Developer
Everybody picks their nose,
But some people are better at hiding it.
 
K

Kevin Spencer

Still, perhaps the best thing would be to answer the question posed in his
title, which would be "no, people are not 'aloud' to advertsie here."

--
;-),

Kevin Spencer
Microsoft MVP
..Net Developer
Everybody picks their nose,
But some people are better at hiding it.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
474,444
Messages
2,571,709
Members
48,796
Latest member
Greg L.
Top