Batch modifying text - content and context based

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Really not sure I'm in the right category for this since I'm really new at anything coding – and programming – related but I'm looking for a way to automate a task that is taking me forever to do by hand.

I'm a graphic designer and I'm working on a book collecting a lot of text entries (Twitter trending terms, for every hour over the course of the year 2022, so around 8,7k words). For design and legibility purposes, I would like to add a Tab symbol before a term anytime it is consecutively recurrent, and reset it anytime another term shows up. It would look something like this (with em-dashes instead of tabs here):

Term 1
—Term 1
——Term 1
———Term 1
Term 2
—Term 2
Term 1
—Term 1
——Term 1
Term 3
Term 2
—Term 2

Could anyone (try to) explain to me how would I go about writing such a script ?

For now, the text is stored in Excel cells because it is convenient to paste into InDesign tables.

Also, for the patient pedagogues amongst you, there are two caveats that I would assume could cause issues:
-Some of the terms are multi-word phrases or contain hashtags
-Each page of the book contains a day, so the script would need to hard-reset every 24 terms (24 hours) no matter what

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice day,

Nino from Brussels

Reaction score
You can write a batch script to accomplish this by using the following steps:

1. Load the text into a file: You can copy the text from Excel cells and paste it into a text file using a text editor like Notepad.
  2. Write a script to process the text: You can write a batch script using the following code:

Code:
@echo off

rem Initialize the variables
set "prevTerm="
set "tabs="

rem Read the file line by line
for /f "delims=" %%a in (textfile.txt) do (
rem If the current term is equal to the previous term, add a tab
if "%%a" == "%prevTerm%" (
set "tabs=%tabs% "
) else (