Coding newbie here- app for a school project!!

Reaction score
hello!! i am an absolute beginner at coding, literally do not know a thing. but I'm trying to code an app for my school fundraiser- a 'read-a-thon' and I was wondering how you would make a counter app for students to add how many pages they've read and also the amount of money their sponsors have pledged per page. then there will also ideally be a leaderboard to see how many pages students have read (but not how much money they have collected- only they should be able to see this!!!).

I'm trying to make it so this works on both android and ios to make it all-inclusive. please help!!! thank you so much!!
- also I currently have vscode and I'm on a mac!
i am also a big figma person- so usually I only do frontend design but yeah.. any advice or youtube or resources would be helpful!!

Reaction score
Ambitious project! This will involve two main parts: a mobile/web app and a server backend.

You've got a lot of options for cross platform, mobile app development. Too many options, really, that ends up making it difficult to choose. Some popular ones are Ionic, React Native, and Flutter. Just Google "cross platform mobile app framework" if you want more options and to compare them. For an absolute beginner with not a whole lot of time, I'd recommend Ionic. It can build for phones and the web with one codebase and it just uses JavaScript, CSS, and HTML/XML.