Some advice on getting into coding?

Reaction score
Hi ya'll, I'm new to the site and I've got a bunch of questions out of the gate, hope this is the right place to post this...
Anyway, I was thinking about adding coding/programming to my list of employable skills and was looking for some insight as to whether or not this is something that could work for me.
A little background info: I work in film and TV production currently...I like what I do for a living and I don't want to quit, but if the pandemic has taught me anything it's that A) I need another way to make money besides production work because that shit can all of a sudden vanish on you and B) that supplemental income should ideally be a somewhat flexible, work from home situation.

So is coding the type of thing that I could realistically just kind of jump in and out of as a freelancer and mostly work from home? I'm not looking for a fulltime, go to the office every day type scenario, just a way to keep the cash flow coming in when I have some downtime between productions, which is usually a few months but in the case of the pandemic, basically this entire past year

Also how much money can you expect to make at it? Do you get paid hourly, weekly, per project, how does the pay work? Any special equipment needed other than a laptop and wifi connection?

I'm also pretty new at it, so how long can I expect it take to go from zero to employable? Are there any particular programs/languages that are most in-demand? I know a little, I did some graphic design/web design in college and learned some rudimentary html and ccs, but that's mostly it...also looking for recommendations on which courses to try? You go online and there's just dozens of coding classes, bootcamps, etc., i have no idea which ones are the good ones...I'm willing to spend a little money on it so it doesn't have to be exclusively free or even the cheapest classes, if it gets me paid work down the line it's worth it.