I am new to coding. Can you guys give me some advice?

Reaction score
i am fairly new to coding, i know some python but i am kinda lost, i dont know what to learn where to learn it from and where shoulkd i go next from there. i am learning on my own so this is a big problem for me. i have seen a lot of youtube videos and all of them say to start with python, should i? or is it just a waste of time? do u guys have any other tips for me?

Reaction score
Hi,

I was posting the same advice in some other thread:

My 3 advises for starters:

• Not only watch videos, read also blogs and tutorials and books.
  • You need 1 to 3 own small coding projects to working on and have real practice. Don't choose too big or too difficult projects for the beginning. E.g. if you start learn C++ make a little Console Game asking questions and the User has to supply the correct answer on the keyboard, or if you start learning webprogramming make your own small little guestbook or sth. similar.
  • Don't practice only alone. Have a tutor, a group or a friend sometimes. Work on a project together.

Which language you choose to start with is more or less up to your preferences.

My recommendation:
Python is ok. You can easily try things with it.
You could also choose C++. But this has a higher learning curve. But it is a worth.
The basic ideas of programming like variables and functions and different types you can also trial with my script language (no installation required btw.). I could guide you through it if you are interested.

With C++ you will learn many of the computer background mechanics as well. With other languages like Java, C# and even more with Python those things are hidden from the programmer.

Reaction score
Ah...this question brings back my old memories.

This is probably THE MOST asked question in the world by newbie programmers!