PHP variables and 'back' button

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm very new to PHP and have begun using SESSION variables.
Everything seems to work with setting session_start() and passing SESSION values in a forward direction. What I need to understand is what happens when the browser 'back' button is pressed. My data disappears when this happens. Do those pages no longer belong to the same SESSION? Why is the data now missing? I'm sure it is something fundamental I've not done, but my research has come up empty thus far.

I'm working on an e-commerce checkout application and would like to either preserve the data with the back button press or redirect the customer to begin again. The data entry is extremely simple so starting over should not be an issue.

Reaction score
What do you mean by "passing SESSION values in a forward direction"? Once declared your session variables should always be there. Do you or did you start the PHP code with 'session_start()'?

Reaction score
True. That was a poor choice of words. The SESSION variables are set at various points as I have session_start() with each successive php page. Those are available as I move forward in the checkout process. What I am confused about is if the 'back' button of the browser is clicked, then the display on the reloaded page pointed to by the back button should output unchanged SESSION variables. The variables.in that page are not retaining their values or not showing that they do. They come up blank.
My impression was that those values would not change unless I specifically changed them as long as the SESSION was active.

Maybe I do not understand SESSION variables completely?

Reaction score
Your understanding is the same as mine, although I have never checked them like you just did. If I have some free time I'll give them a check.

If anybody wants to jump in here it's wide open.

Reaction score