Tutorials for Reorganizing Spreadsheet Data

J

josephlkremer

Hello, I'm a high school physics teacher and while I've played with Python enough to make a rock paper scissors program or animation of a bouncing ball (with air resistance!), I've never used it to work with data from a spreadsheet.

I have a large spreadsheet with a number of different student responses to a weekly prompt in various cells depending on which question they chose to answer. I'd like to organize these responses into something that make it easy for students to look back through their responses over time, and see howthey've changed.

This is obviously possible in Python, but I don't know where to begin learning the details of what I'll need to know to build it. Can anyone give me aspecific recommendation of tutorials where I might begin?

Thanks!

Joe

J

Joel Goldstick

Hello, I'm a high school physics teacher and while I've played with
Python enough to make a rock paper scissors program or animation of a
bouncing ball (with air resistance!), I've never used it to work with data
from a spreadsheet.
I have a large spreadsheet with a number of different student responses
to a weekly prompt in various cells depending on which question they chose
to answer. I'd like to organize these responses into something that make it
easy for students to look back through their responses over time, and see
how they've changed.
This is obviously possible in Python, but I don't know where to begin
learning the details of what I'll need to know to build it. Can anyone give
me a specific recommendation of tutorials where I might begin?
The package xlrd will read your Excel files

T

Terry Reedy

Hello, I'm a high school physics teacher and while I've played with Python enough to make a rock paper scissors program or animation of a bouncing ball (with air resistance!), I've never used it to work with data from a spreadsheet.