My c++ calculator script won't work. Please help.

Reaction score
I am very new to c++ and have been working on a simple four function calculator. To choose an operation, you type a number (1 through 4) and hit enter. I used if and else if statements to process what operation has been selected, but it always acts like I pressed 1. It might be my compiler, but I don't know. I have attached a text file containing the code that I used. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

• Calc.txt
    1.2 KB · Views: 14
Reaction score
I am very new to c++ and have been working on a simple four function calculator. To choose an operation, you type a number (1 through 4) and hit enter. I used if and else if statements to process what operation has been selected, but it always acts like I pressed 1. It might be my compiler, but I don't know. I have attached a text file containing the code that I used. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!
In C++, the assignment operator = is used to assign a value to a variable. To compare values, use the comparison operator ==. In your code, the if and else if conditions are always evaluating to true because you are assigning values to a instead of comparing them.

Here i have rewrite you code :

C++:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int operation;
    double num1, num2, result;

cout << "Select an operation: 1) Addition, 2) Subtraction, 3) Multiplication, 4) Division: ";
    cin >> operation;

cout << "Enter the first number: ";
    cin >> num1;
    cout << "Enter the second number: ";
    cin >> num2;

if (operation == 1)
    {
        result = num1 + num2;
        cout << "The sum is: " << result << endl;
    }
    else if (operation == 2)
    {
        result = num1 - num2;
        cout << "The difference is: " << result << endl;
    }
    else if (operation == 3)
    {
        result = num1 * num2;
        cout << "The product is: " << result << endl;
    }
    else if (operation == 4)
    {