Need Advice

Reaction score
I get a weekly text file that contains hundreds of similar records. I use MS Word to scan through the file deleting about half and editing the others. The editing is mainly deleting whitespace and some reformatting to make the information easier to read. No information is added. This takes about 3 hours; very tedious.

I would like to write a program to automate this process. I have some programming experience with C and Basic, and Unix tools. I work on an iMac desktop computer. I am looking for recommendations on the best and easiest programming language to use. This is a one-time project so I want to minimize the effort needed to get this done.

Thank you.

Reaction score
Why would it contain hundreds of similar records?
What format should it end up in?
Takes you three hours, would take javascript less than a second depending on what you're actually doing with it.

Reaction score
This is a Police Log where each record is an incident report such as a traffic stop. All incidents have the same structure and format while the content is different. The source is a text file and the result is a text file. I need to be able to isolate an incident, check its content to see if I want to keep it, and then reformat the keepers. Are you suggesting javascript is the best choice for this project?

Reaction score
I'm not suggesting it's the best choice, however it could be an option. What do you mean when you say it's a one-time project, but you get a weekly text file containing records?

The project is data manipulation (database). The code you would use depends on the system using the police logs. My guess is it would have to be extremely secure so I don't understand why you would be getting a text file with the information.

Reaction score
What I meant by a one-time project is that I may never write another program. I'm not a programmer and don't intend to be one so I'm looking for the easiest solution.