Outputting signal values to terminal Within Character Array

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm self teaching myself a lot of FPGA programming with VHDL for a personal project, and I'm running into an issue getting signal values to output to my terminal via UART bridge. Apologies if I don't give enough information in the initial thread, and also sorry if this is a super simple question, since I'm pretty much entirely self taught.

Right now, I have a Cmod A7 FPGA hooked up to an analog to digital voltage converter via a standard SPI interface. I managed to write and create a code that configures the AD converter, and the converter is sending me binary signals corresponding to an external input voltage I can manually control. What I eventually want to do is perform some operations on the signal and output it from the FPGA into another digital to analog converter, so the next step in the project is I want to confirm the data is being stored in the FPGA correctly, and to do that I want to output a message to an external terminal hooked up to the FPGA via a USB UART bridge that is pre-packaged with the FPGA.

I have had a lot of issues getting this to work correctly through my own code, so I found a demo project on the Digilient website that has the framework that is pretty close to what I want to do (found here https://digilent.com/reference/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/cmod-a7-gpio-demo/start). Using that code, I was able to cobble together a working code that still communicates with the AD converter like it should, but can also output hardcoded messages when one of the buttons on the FPGA is pressed. My idea is to modify the hard coded message so that rather than outputting a string of characters, it outputs the value currently on the SDO pin. The relevent code is below.

type CHAR_ARRAY is array (integer range<>) of std_logic_vector(7 downto 0);