Any project ideas for landing a job ?

Reaction score
In short, my point is that I graduated 1 year ago and have been learning Java up to now. I have decent knowledge about almost every aspect of this language but I don't know if I will get employed with no experience at all.. So I came up with an idea of creating some sort of project to show off my skills.

My question is: Does anyone have any experience with this kind of stuff ? What are the best options for the project ? Should it be based on a database(backend) with some little frontend, application based or do I need to create some "hierarchy" of related classes to show them I understand OOP concepts..

Thanks for any reply..

Reaction score
I don't know where you live, but probably you will be employed. There is a big and growing hunger for IT professionals in the world right now and the bar is quite low. Also, there are internships and free events like hackatons you can partake in (or so I'm told, there aren't many in my small home town). Be active in the software community and create a good name for yourself and respectable online presence. Have good and updated profile in LinkedIn. A project to show is a great thing - it shows that you can code and you are passionate about programming, but if it is poorly written or simplistic and generic it isn't, and a good project can take many months to create, so in my opinion - don't bother.