New to Python

Reaction score
Hi their , Im new to the world of coding, I have choose python as my first language to learn.
My first question would be ,, Where is the best place to start ?

Any info would be great thanks

Reaction score
Hi Billy,

First of all: Welcome! The world of coding is wonderful and the sky is truly the limit.

Second, a question of where to start is hard to answer. I would ask:
  • What are your preferences? What would you like to be able to code?
  • What are your goals? Do you have specific things in mind?
  • Are you going to pursue coding as a job / are you going to study it at a college/university?
My general answer to the question, where to start, would be:

Just do the simple things first. Do some text processing. Get the program to recognise your input and create different responses based on it. Try to break your code (meaning, try to input things you might not have anticipated, like a string of text where it would have expected an integer (number))! Breaking your code will teach you a lot about how any language, or computer for that matter, really needs you to specify your desired behavior down to the comma. Also it will teach you how users might be able to get very unexpected results out of your piece of code, you will want to prevent that at all times.

When people get into coding, they often think the computer will generally understand what they are trying to do and thus do not have to be absolutely precise and very specific.