speaking at PyCon

E

Eric Snow

This is my first year speaking at PyCon, so I solicited
speaking/preparation advice from a bunch of folks, particularly
focusing on the PyCon speaking experience. I've compiled the results
and put them online:

http://ref.rtfd.org/speakers

This is still rough, and feedback is welcome, as is more advice. :)
For anyone speaking at the conference (or generally), I hope this will
be helpful. Thanks!

-eric

R

Roy Smith

Wow. As somebody who has given plenty of talks, I can tell you this is an awesome checklist (and most of it not specific to PyCon).

Let me add one suggestion -- never, ever, ever, type a URL into a browser connected to the internet in front of a live audience. You never know when you're going to make a typo and something *totally* not what you expected will fill the screen. If you absolutely insist on ignoring the good advice about not doing live demos, at least bookmark your urls and click on the bookmark. DAMHIKT.

R

Roy Smith

Wow. As somebody who has given plenty of talks, I can tell you this is an awesome checklist (and most of it not specific to PyCon).

Let me add one suggestion -- never, ever, ever, type a URL into a browser connected to the internet in front of a live audience. You never know when you're going to make a typo and something *totally* not what you expected will fill the screen. If you absolutely insist on ignoring the good advice about not doing live demos, at least bookmark your urls and click on the bookmark. DAMHIKT.

D

Devin Jeanpierre

Wow.  As somebody who has given plenty of talks, I can tell you thisis an awesome checklist (and most of it not specific to PyCon).