Is being a web dev still a good job ?

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I would like to ask you for some honest advice. I originally learned to program as a hobby, then got into web development, and worked as a frontend dev for a company making websites for a while.

The thing is, I'm not really good at it and also not 100% passionate about it. For me, it was an opportunity to do something I don't dislike and have a nice, stable job, but I wonder now if it is enough for having a future in this industry.

I hear a lot of voices, saying that the market is saturated, the competition is getting too strong, and you don't have a chance as a mediocre programmer.

I'm not afraid to put in the work to get really good at it. Is it worth it though? As a job, is it still a better option than other career paths where I'd had to get a whole new education or degree for?

Also read many articles but still looking for answers

Web App Development in 2022: A Detailed Guide - JayDevs

Reaction score
Hi,

interesting question...

I can only give my opinion (and my feelings) for the answer which must not be the truth.

First: I never worked as a web dev. My background is Senior C++ developer (and not related to web backend).
Second: what is good and what is bad/not good?

My feeling for the web dev market is, that the voices are more or less right. It is highly saturated. Also there are more and more good tools and frameworks which might reduce the needs for some kinds of front end and also back end developers. Instead you must be familiar with those tools. But less people are needed to use them.

From my opinion web dev is not a bad job. It is a better job like many other jobs (which are not in the IT sector).
But I think, that within the IT sector it is not a very good job, especially as a front end dev.
Also, I think the same is true for ordinary or average Java programmers (as example).